Welcome to Our New Members

September 28, 2020

Minneapolis, MN – Today, Minnesota Campus Compact is pleased to announce Hennepin Technical College and Minnesota West Community and Technical College as the newest members of its statewide coalition of 40 colleges and universities. This coalition represents presidents from every sector of higher education. Members of the compact are committed to the public purpose of higher education, including civic engagement and service-learning opportunities that engage students and impact communities.

Both campuses are involved with the organization’s VISTA Community Corps. Through this program, they have hired full-time national service members to develop resources to help meet students’ basic needs such as hunger and housing. Minnesota West is working in collaboration with Southwest Minnesota State University to develop community-wide solutions that positively impact students on both of their campuses.

“We are excited for the possibilities of these new partnerships,” said Iowa Campus Compact Executive Director Emily Shields. “Community and technical colleges are vital to Minnesota’s communities and to the education of all students for careers and civic participation.”

Through a strategic alliance with Iowa Campus Compact,  Minnesota Campus Compact strengthens the capacity of colleges and universities to fulfill the public purposes of higher education through its network of 58 campuses in both states. This includes educating students through community and civic learning experiences and making an impact in communities through reciprocal partnerships that address community-identified goals. IAMNCC creates partnership opportunities, supports quality programming through professional development, and promotes the importance of the civic mission.

“I am pleased that Hennepin Technical College is working in partnership with the Minnesota Campus Compact and its distinguished coalition,” said Dr. Merrill Irving Jr., president, Hennepin Technical College. “Collaborating with organizations that share our values of social responsibility and cultural awareness will allow us to identify additional resources to better serve our students from underrepresented communities.”

Minnesota West Community and Technical College offers over 60 technical career and liberal arts majors on five southwest Minnesota campuses in Canby, Granite Falls, Jackson, Pipestone, and Worthington along with learning centers in Marshall and Luverne, MN.

“Minnesota West is excited to collaborate with the Minnesota Campus Compact and other extraordinary institutions that share our values of community engagement, courage, inclusion, innovation, integrity, and student success,
said Linda Pesch, Student Service Advisor/Perkins Coordinator. “In particular, the work of our AmeriCorps Health VISTA, on basic needs, will help to build infrastructure, procedures, and capacity that will impact our students and communities for years to come.”

The College is a leader in distance learning and Internet delivery. Minnesota West Community & Technical College, a member of Minnesota State. An Equal Opportunity Educator/Employer.